The departments of the College of Medicine form its foundation.

  • Clinical departments (Pediatrics, Obstetrics/Gynecology, Surgery, Internal Medicine, Psychiatry, and Family Medicine) represent the required clinical areas for medical students in their third/fourth year clerkship education.
  • The Department of Biomedical Sciences is composed of PhD-level educators and researchers, working alongside physicians, to collaborate and conduct the groundbreaking basic and translational research that can directly fight disease and improve patients’ lives. The “Biomedical Sciences” includes the traditional disciplines of Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Neurosciences, Physiology and Pharmacology.

These disciplines, side-by-side with the burgeoning fields of molecular biology and genetics, form these foundational sciences and provide a large portion of the experiences of medical students in their first two years of study.

Increasingly, students are engaged in clinical work at the same time, with significant efforts made to integrate these “basic” sciences with clinical experience. For this to succeed, scientists and clinicians must work together to create the curriculum, emulating for the students the team effort that successful healthcare delivery demands.